The HPCZ has mandated the ZMA to restructure CMEs for medical doctors.



The Health Professions Council of Zambia (HPCZ) is a statutory regulatory body established under the Health Professions Act No. 24 of 2009 of the Laws of Zambia.

The functions of HPCZ as enshrined in the Act are as follows:

  • Registration of health practitioners and regulation of their professional conduct (except for nurses who are registered and regulated under another Act);
  • Licensing and regulation of all health facilities;
  • Accreditation of healthcare services provided by health facilities; and the Recognition and approval of training programmes for health practitioners.

It is a requirement for every medical practitioner to renew his or her annual practicing licence with HPCZ. To do this, the medical practitioner should have attained a certain number of Continuous Professional Development (CPD) points. Currently this is at 100. Practitioners below the rank of registered specialist, consultant, Lecturers and trained tutors complete the current CPD form. The CPD point codes are as follows:

A – Attendance at relevant lectures in your Field 10

B – Attendance at recognise seminar/workshop/symposium 10

C – Giving or organising relevant Lecture 20

D – Attendance at workshop, seminar or symposium given by professor Or recognised Specialist 20

E – Attendance at recognised seminar/workshop/course lasting one week or more 100

F – Personal or Group research or audit 30

G – Grand Round 30

H – Training or Teaching in Health related areas (including public education) 30

The Zambia Medical Association is one of the professional associations accredited by HPCZ to provide Continuous Medical Education (CME). The HPCZ has mandated the ZMA to restructure CMEs for medical doctors.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy